I Am America

I’m a bit distressed. There is a quiet storm going on inside of me, and while some of it is that I am a student again, working towards my future, and it is cutting into my sacred writing time. The other part of it is that I am not content with what is going on in our country today. I hate when politics bleeds into my life, and while I try not to be overly opinionated when it comes to my ideologies, sometimes I have to have my say.

Now, before you go writing me off as a whiny, tree-hugging, communist, allow me to clarify… I am a woman. I wanted to be out marching with my sisters in either Los Angeles or Riverside today, but instead, I am home studying my histology slides for my lab practical on Monday morning, and going over my notes on the integument system for a 100 question lecture exam. I am there with them in spirit, however, because it is something I really believe in. Sure, I could have taken a break for a couple of hours and gone downtown, but then I would have felt guilty about not being home studying. And ultimately, my knowledge is my power. The more power I have, the more I can help my sisters. I work toward being the change I want to see int the world. If I am educated, I can better encourage my sisters to become educated. And when we are educated, we can’t be duped by the narrative or the system.

I am not sure why, in 2017, that we women are still having to fight for our rights. This really gets under my skin, and therefore you are going to get a piece of this woman’s mind about it. I may not be able to get out there and march, but I have a voice, and I am going to use it. I have a pen, and I can write. I can share my knowledge, as well as my opinions, and encourage my sisters to open their eyes to what is really going on around them. The threat is real, and to delude yourself into thinking that everything we women have fought for is safe and not under any real threat is foolish.

There is a war on women, and whether you want to accept it or not doesn’t make it any less so. It isn’t liberal propaganda. It isn’t fear-mongering. It is alive and well every time a politician proposes a bill of anti-women legislation, or every time a man speaks to a woman in a condescending tone, or mansplains something to us like we are fucking idiots. I’m not being oversensitive. I’m being real. The fact that there are large groups of women all over the world in our big cities today, marching for this purpose has got to tell you something. Hell, there are more people in Washington DC marching today than there were at Trump’s inauguration yesterday. Hmmm.

If you still insist that I am being an oversensitive, then maybe you should become a bit more oversensitive yourself. You know what a slippery slope is, right? Every time a politician proposes a law that effects reproduction rights or access to contraception, they are threatening our rights as women. Every time a politician says they are going to work toward overthrowing Roe vs Wade, they are threatening our rights as women. Every time a woman is paid seventy-five cents to a man’s dollar, they are stepping on our rights as women. They are disrespecting us as women.

Since when is it ever okay for a panel of old white men to get to decide what rights women should have when it comes to their bodies? Since when is it right for the government to de-fund the one organization that helps women get the healthcare they need when they don’t have the money to go to a regular doctor, or they don’t have insurance to cover the price to of their contraception? Stop buying into the lies. Abortion is only 3% of what Planned Parenthood does. THREE FUCKING PERCENT! If you don’t believe in abortion, great don’t get one. But mind your own fucking business and stop trying to set the moral tone of the nation. Ugh! Another subject for another day. But how can any decent person de-fund an organization that provides much needed advice and medical care to women, an organization that screens for the various cancers us women can get, and give us affordable contraception to prevent pregnancy so that the percentage of 3% doesn’t get any higher? Yes, for those of you not following… the new administration wants to de-fund an organization that does 97% good so that it can no longer do the 3% bad. Do we close down all of our grocery stores because they sell 97% food and 3% cigarettes? Why not? Cigarettes are the number one killer in the world. Common. Fucking Sense. People.

Of course, I could go on and on, but I will digress. I think I’ve made my point. I am angry. I am distressed. But I will fight, and I will do it with all the love I have inside of me. Back in November, I didn’t vote for a candidate; I voted for an ideology – LOVE. I voted for progress. I voted for freedom. I voted for women. I am America.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

