For Your Information…

I am still feeling giddy from finishing my first shitty first draft last week.  I have and editor, and she is currently working on helping me perfect it.  I’m slowly moving closer to achieving what I want, and I am nervous because I am both afraid of failing and succeeding.  I am having a hard time trying to figure out which I am more afraid of, but the fears are different.  I’m in control of whether I fail or not, so I keep stepping out of my comfort zone and pushing myself, but I feel like I can only control my success to a certain point.  I’ll have to keep pushing and stepping over new thresholds, and it sounds as scary as it does exciting.

I have sucked up some of my fear and posted the first chapters of both books I’m working on on the My Novels page.  They are linked from my Evernote and formatted for easy reading.  As I continue to edit, I will post links to the updated drafts, and eventually post PDF copies of the books for my readers to read.  I’m hoping that if people read the free copies, they can decide whether they like my style, and hopefully start purchasing my subsequent books.

Like the song says, it’s hard out there for a pimp.

8 thoughts on “For Your Information…

Add yours

  1. I totally understand about shitty first drafts. Mine for a paranormal fantasy read back so aweful that I scrapped the whole thing and started back at square one, reading novels in that genre, lol!

    It sounds like you have the perfect approach. I admire your spirit. If I were you I would offer short stories for free reads as an incentive for email subscribing to your blog and keep the novel’s up at a cost of around $4.95 on Kindle for being a new author. This way you are not only implementing smart business practices and coming off as a professional, but also building that ever important email list where your most successful marketing campaign will take place.

    Congratulations on finishing your first draft! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Michelle. Thank you for your advice. I was just telling my husband that I was thinking of putting teaser short stories on my blog and/or Amazon that were related to the book somehow to pique people’s interest. I think I will take your advice and post them here for incentive. I want and badly need a fan base, and that is an excellent idea on how to try and establish one.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, I’m glad I could help. Look me up if you need book cover designs or illustrated covers, I am an award winning affordable professional 🙂 I can also help with your marketing and putting together your author image brand for your platform. I have some great articles under “The Indie Author Advocate” tab on my blog that you might find helpful as you move forward. Check them out when you have time 🙂 Let me know what you think!

        I have been taking some of my old blog posts and expanding upon them creating short how-to books for indie authors that I will be sharing to promote my other books as well. From all of the research I’ve done, it is a great way to grow your fanbase, especially if you offer them for free for signing up with their emails. Then it’s like you said, it’s a great way to peak their interest in your other works.

        My mistake was starting out with a free site, I am in the process of upgrading it so I can revamp my website and blog, make my pages more interactive, and promote my business with faster loading pages. I have so many images on there and a thousand more to ad, so upgrading is a necessity.

        Anyway, I’m rambling! It’s great to meet you and I look forward to reading your books! Charge money for those novels girly, you are a professional writer, they are worth it! 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

