It’s A Good Day

Last night, I finished up a few finishing touches on the story I had begun back in November for NaNoWriMo, and when I was finished, I realized that I had just finished writing the shitty first draft of my first book.  Yeah, you read that right – I FINISHED WRITING THE SHITTY FIRST DRAFT OF MY FIRST BOOK.

dancingcolbert.gif~c200I felt so accomplished.  I slept well.  I woke up this morning feeling good.  I’m grinning as I’m writing this.  It’s going to be a good day.  What am I going to do now?  Finish the book I was working on before I got blissfully sidetracked with this one, have a glass or three of wine, and enjoy the ride.

The day before yesterday, I joined a site called Patreon.  It’s a crowdfunding site, and the thought of it is scary because I feel weird asking strangers to contribute to my cause.  Apparently it’s all the rage right now, this crowdfunding thing.  As people begin to learn about my work, and I develop a fan base,  they will want to give me money.  I feel like a panhandler being on Patreon, but since I’m also my own pimp, I have to use every opportunity available to me to sell myself.  This is so nerve wracking for me because, one, I am a certifiable introvert, and two, I’m not a sales person by any means, and now I am going to have to step out of my comfort zone if I want to go far in this business.

I want the unicorns and shit.  I really do.  I guess as I am transforming into my alter ego who will be going by the pseudonym Chanel O’Hara, I am going to have to learn to be more outgoing.  This is scarier than crowdfunding.  I am literally going to have to put myself out there, and be at the mercy of people.  What if they think my work sucks?  What if I need to speak in public?  What if I’m invited on the Ellen show to talk about my book?  I’m getting way ahead of myself here, but these are all the places my mind goes.  I think up every possible scenario, and it is very stressful.  The only thing that brings me any comfort is that at the end of the day, I can curl up in my own bed, and just be plain old Nance.

If you want to see how this all turns out, I will be writing about every step of the process and posting it here.  I’m going to lay it all out on the table for you.  I’ll tell you about what is working for me and what isn’t, and as always, I’ll share my innermost feelings with you so you can laugh and cry with me.  If you’re down for a good time, stick around.

Save

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

