On Why Kylo Ren Is The Perfect Villain, Wattpad, & Why I Am Reading ‘One Direction’ Fan Fiction

I see the look on your face.  You’re thinking, “okay, I’m interested in hearing her opinion on Kylo Ren, but why the actual fuck is this crazy bitch reading One Direction fan fiction?”

Before my street cred is completely revoked, first,  I must admit that I had no idea who Harry Styles was before a week ago.  I mean, I don’t have daughters, and my sons don’t listen to them.  I have to admit I am a little embarrassed, that with all of my pop culture knowledge, I didn’t know who he was, but I guess that’s what happens when your nose in is your laptop all the time because you’re trying to finish writing your first book.  Second, since I have no deep spiritual connection with him like I do with, say, George, the book didn’t have the same affect on me as it would the bazillion girls who are in love with the One Direction dude. I wasn’t thinking, ‘oooooh, Harry Styles, I’m so in love with your asshole character while I was reading it.   On the contrary, I thought his character, who goes by the name Hardin Scott, was a huge dick.

I became interested in the book when I was looking through my Wattpad app, trying to decide if I should upload my own work on there to start establishing a fan base.  A lot of writers seem to do it, and not only would I be establishing a fan base, I would also be getting feedback from all the so-called ‘experts’ out there, and I could use the criticism to improve my work.  My biggest fear is that someone would steal my work – not that it’s Earth-shattering fiction by any means, but it could spark an idea in someone else’s head, they could run with it and publish it, and then I would have to hunt a motherfucker down and beat her ass.

Anyway, while I was going through the most popular books on Wattpad, debating on whether it was a good idea to go that route or not, I came across a book called After by Anna Todd, and saw that it allegedly had over one billion reads.  I’m skeptical to believe that a seventh of the world’s population actually read this book in it’s rough draft form, and seemed to be hated by just as many people who loved it, but the book definitely reached a hell of a lot of people, and it made me wonder if uploading my work was a good idea.  I would like a fan base of more than 41 people one day.  So, my curiosity got the best of me, I bought the book, and I finished it yesterday.  It wasn’t the best book I have ever read, but it wasn’t terrible.  The problem with this site, as well as Goodreads, and any other site that allows anyone and everyone to review books, is that any and everyone who can, will review your book and give you a piece of their mind.  And there are a lot of mean people out there.  They won’t just tell you they didn’t care for your book because it wasn’t their thing, they will literally rip your book apart.  It’s like, they forget it’s a work of fiction and take it way too seriously.

cersei-tearing-paper

What I did like about the book, was that it was an emotional roller coaster.  I like to feel what I’m reading, whether it be happiness, sadness, anger, disgust, or whatever.  I like to feel what the characters are feeling, and there is nothing I love more than for a book to rip my heart out of my chest, throw it on the floor, and stomp the shit out of it.  The constant back and forth between the two characters in After did just that, and that’s why I kept reading.  Sometimes, the simplest plots or story lines can really get to you when they are well written, or when you can tell that the author put her soul into it.  Fan fiction or not, I felt the hurt, and it felt so fucking good.

And that brings me to Kylo Ren.

Despite what some of the haters think, I thought he was the perfect villain.  Unlike his grandfather, the cool, calm, and calculating Darth Vader, Kylo Ren was emotional and full of angst, and you could see and feel how torn he was between the light and the dark.  His being torn is his motivation, because he wants so badly to be dark, and follow in the footsteps of the grandfather he idolizes so much, and yet there is still that humanity in him, the same humanity that cause his grandfather to sacrifice himself to save Luke from the Emperor.  [Me thinks Kylo Ren doesn’t know his grandfather had that change of heart moments before he took his last breath, considering he is so determined to cling to the dark side.]  I love watching him struggle with the war that is going on inside of him, and watching his temper fits when things don’t go his way.  It makes him unstable, and thus dangerous, and anyone who says he is weak simply doesn’t understand how much power the man truly has.

kylo-ren-and-first-order-stormtroopers-retina-wallpapers-800x500

The dude stopped a blaster shot, took a couple shots from Chewbacca’s crossbow – the same one that took out several storm troopers – and still kept on going.  He isn’t weak.  He is the perfect example of how the villain thinks he’s the hero in his own story.  He is passionate, he is strong with the force he believes so much in, and he has a manipulative supreme leader, similar to the one his grandfather had, who knows the struggle going on inside of him, and is taking full advantage of it. Ugh!  I can’t wait to see how his character develops, and how story plays out.

4 thoughts on “On Why Kylo Ren Is The Perfect Villain, Wattpad, & Why I Am Reading ‘One Direction’ Fan Fiction

Add yours

  1. I’m under the impression that Wattpad is some kind of teenagers’ segregation, but I could be wrong. My girl told me more than a couple of times that more often than not, the poetry that floated was stuff written by teenagers, for teenagers, so that would explain the fanfic up to a certain degree.

    P.S. Came across your blog through ello.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really seemed like that was the case – it being a teenager segregation of sorts. I write adult fiction, and while there did appear to be few adult writers on there, it’s not likely I will use that platform to build a fan base since it isn’t the audience I am trying to attract. And it’s good to see I reached someone through Ello! Thanks.

      Like

  2. I am on Wattpad as well as of recently. It’s an interesting place. I haven’t quite decided how much time I want to dedicate to it yet, but it’s a nice interface. I’m uploading my serial willy wonka fan fiction there as well as on my blog. Seems like it might fit? I guess we’ll see. Take care and happy writing. Thanks for your post.

    -JM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

