I’m A Busy Woman, What Can I Say?

Sorry guys, I have been so busy this month.  Between my writing class, hockey (kids & LA Kings), preparing for NaNoWriMo, and this thing we call life, I have been busy, and when I’m not busy, I’ve been sleeping.  I have just been feeling really tired lately.

I have posted a link to my Evernote on the The Novel page, so now you can read the first chapter of my novel, if you are so inclined.  Feel free to comment, criticize, critique, rip apart, point out grammatical or spelling mistakes, etc.  Go nuts.  I had to turn it in for my class, so I had to make it presentable for the class to read, therefore I feel confident enough for the rest of you to read.  I have to have Chapter Two ready in a couple of weeks, so I may post a link for that here, too.  Maybe, if enough people asked, I would post all the chapters… eventually… on The Novel page, and then you guys could read it before I publish it.  Just a thought.

I get to take a month off of writing it next month to do NaNoWriMo.  I don’t want to take a month off, but I can’t use a story I’m already working on, so I’ve plotted an outline for a stand alone sequel.  That seems to be all the rage these days – series of stand alone sequels.  Two different people from the same world I’ve created, their story, and more gangster shit.  Even more exciting, is that I get to go to San Francisco next month to participate in The Night Of Writing Dangerously, which is a write-a-thon, where I get to go hang out for a few hours with like 200 other writers, and we’re going to eat, drink, and write.

Originally, I was going to write a story about a writer whose muse comes to life, and hangs out with her while she’s writing, and they become friends, just to later find out she imagined the whole thing.  I’ve really wanted to use an unreliable narrator in one of my stories, and since I have a few pictures of George lying around on my computer, and I feel like I’m getting to know the guy simply by looking at his face almost every day and following his Instagram, I thought the idea of me blowing the whole fucking thing out of proportion, and having it take on a life of it’s own would be a good idea for a story.  However, I don’t think I could write 400 pages about that.  It’s perfect for a short story though, and I’ve already pitched the idea to my writing class, and they all seemed to like the idea.  My only fear is that I’m not too familiar with the nuances of the different English dialects.  Yeah, I know the slang, but sometime the way they word things is just a little different, and I want the conversation between the muse and the writer to be accurate.  The way I speak to him would subtly differ from how he spoke to me, even though we speak the same language.  So, I either have to do some serious research, or beg George to help a sister out.  Yeah, good luck getting his attention, Nance.  I’ve watched enough Sherlock, Doctor Who, Absolutely Fabulous, and Top Gear to make me an honorary Brit, and still I’m lost when it comes to writing it…

Lastly, I’ve also added a Writing Resources page that I plan to fill up with all kinds of lovely things for writers, like worksheets, links, recommended books, and anything that new writers will find helpful and/or useful.  That will take some time to put together, so be patient, but I hope it will be helpful to those of you who are just getting started.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

