Can One Really Write A Book In A Month?

I have officially decided that I’m going to do the NaNoWriMo in November this year.  It starts in roughly 11 weeks, and I came up with a disturbing, yet ridiculous idea for a story.  I’m not ready to share the idea yet, because I have to do a little research and planning first to see if it will actually work, but I promise to fill you guys in when I get all that sorted out.

1321060956165_1530942

By deciding to do this, I am going to be spreading myself so thin in November.  Between hockey, school, and my sister’s wedding, I’m going to be so busy that it’s going to cut severely into my stalking George on Instagram time, but it’s a small, painful sacrifice I’m going to have to make in order to get where I want to be.

So, what is NaNoWriMo?  It’s short for National Novel Writing Month.  It’s a system, really, where I write a 50,000 word novel in a month, beginning on November 1, and have until 11:59 on November 30 to complete it.  During the month, it’ll track my progress, and I’ll earn participation badges – like stickers on my homework in grade school, and have a shitload of resources and help at my disposal.  The idea is that when the month is over, I have a shitty first draft to edit and get ready to publish, and apparently there are resources for that too.  Yay!

1287497067082_4829734

For you other writers who have never heard of NaNoWriMo, and want to learn more about it, go check it out here.  I also linked it above.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

